Recommended book library for software engineers

Edmond Lau
3 min readDec 30, 2022
Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

I have been leading and building new software engineering teams and organizations for over a decade. I often recommend additional reading materials for team members during 1:1s. Here is a list of books for software engineers (individual contributors) to read. However, I cannot list the entire O’Reilly collection, so you are welcome to comment here or send me a DM if I missed other obvious choices.

Last updated: November 11, 2023.

Must Reads

Clean Code

Clean Code by Robert Martin

The Pragmatic Programmer, 20th Anniversary Edition

The Pragmatic Programmer, 20th Anniversary Edition by David Thomas, Andrew Hunt

Clean Coder

The Clean Coder by Robert Martin

Refactoring

--

--